Political Affairs
Get all the latest local news and viral content from Bharat with a focus on top national events and trending local stories.

Shehbaz Sharif Reclaims PM Seat in Pakistan Amid National Assembly Uproar

© AP Photo / K.M. ChaudaryShehbaz Sharif gestures during a press conference regarding parliamentary elections, in Lahore, Pakistan, Tuesday, Feb. 13, 2024.
Shehbaz Sharif gestures during a press conference regarding parliamentary elections, in Lahore, Pakistan, Tuesday, Feb. 13, 2024. - Sputnik India, 1920, 03.03.2024
Omar Ayub Khan, the contender from the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), also submitted candidacy papers ahead of Sunday's election.
The Pakistan National Assembly appointed Shehbaz Sharif, leader of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), as the 24th prime minister on Sunday. The session commenced with members of the Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) causing a disturbance by chanting slogans, according to Pakistani media reports.
Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, speaker of the Pakistan National Assembly, officially announced Shehbaz Sharif's election as prime minister, as he secured 201 votes.

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader, Omar Ayub Khan and SIC's prime ministerial candidate, received 92 votes. The announcement was made amid protests from SIC lawmakers.

The session, presided over by Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, began with the swearing-in ceremony of PML-N leader Jam Kamal.
However, the proceedings were soon disrupted by slogans and chants from SIC members expressing support for PTI founder Imran Khan and the eight-party alliance endorsing Shehbaz Sharif.
In response to the chaos, Sadiq instructed the assembly staff to ring the bell for five minutes to allow absent members to join the floor for the prime minister's election.

Following the bell-ringing, Sadiq directed National Assembly staff to lock the doors and outlined the procedure for the prime minister's election.

Subsequently, the speaker of the Pakistan National Assembly provided information to the legislators regarding the contenders for the prime minister's position.

He stated, "Valid nominated candidates are Shehbaz Sharif and Omar Ayub. Honourable members who wish to vote in favour of Shehbaz may proceed to the lobby on the right side designated as 'Lobby A'".

Ayaz Sadiq then directed those supporting Omar Ayub Khan to move to the left-hand side towards "Lobby B" for the recording of their votes.

As the voting process commenced, members of the Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) declared a boycott of the elections and left the assembly.

Sardar Akhtar Mengal from the Balochistan National Party abstained from voting, but remained seated in the assembly.
Following the conclusion of the polling process, the secretary of the Pakistan National Assembly provided the speaker with details regarding the voting.
Supporters of ruling party Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chant slogans during a protest in Islamabad, Pakistan, Sunday, April 3, 2022. - Sputnik India, 1920, 01.03.2024
Political Affairs
PTI's Nationwide Protest Against Alleged Election Fraud: What is Behind It?
To participate in the discussion
log in or register
Заголовок открываемого материала