Political Affairs
Get all the latest local news and viral content from Bharat with a focus on top national events and trending local stories.

Malaysia to Kick Off Formal BRICS Accession Process Soon: Prime Minister

© ARIF KARTONOMalaysia’s Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim.
Malaysia’s Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim. - Sputnik India, 1920, 18.06.2024
The acronym BRICS originally represented the group of nations Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa.
Malaysia will soon start formal proceedings to join BRICS, Malaysian Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim said on Monday.

"We have already explained our policy and made our decision. We will start formal proceedings soon," Ibrahin said in an interview with the founder of Chinese news outlet Guancha, Eric Xun Li, also known as Li Shimo, when asked about when Malaysia was planning to join.

BRICS was established in 2009 as a cooperation platform for the largest emerging economies, initially uniting Brazil, Russia, India and China. South Africa joined the group in 2010. Russia assumed the bloc's rotating presidency on January 1. On the same day, BRICS expanded its membership to include Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, and the UAE.
India's Prime Minister Narendra Modi  - Sputnik India, 1920, 23.08.2023
Political Affairs
India Fully Supports Consensus-Driven BRICS Expansion: Modi
To participate in the discussion
log in or register
Заголовок открываемого материала